Today is the first day of the rest of your career. Make it count.

For more than 45 years, the CMA®(Certified Management Accountant) certification has been the global benchmark for management accountants and financial professionals. Why? Because CMAs can explain the “why” behind numbers, not just the “what.” And that can give you greater credibility, higher earning potential, and ultimately a seat at the leadership table.

The Certified Management Accountant (CMA) is the highest level of certification in management accounting awarded by the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA) USA. The US CMA Course is globally recognized, advanced-level credential appropriate for accountants and financial professionals in business

Reciprocity Between the IMA and the ICAI

First of all, some good news: If you are an ICAI (previously known as the IWCAI) member, you can apply for the U.S. CMA membership as long as you have a valid ICAI certificate. You can learn more at this IMA page.

The agreement works the other way around as well. If you’re a CMA, you can also obtain an ICAI membership. But there is one restriction — you must have taken the CMA program outside of India.

Exam Content and Format

The CMA exam is computerized and consists of 2 parts, each containing 100 multiple-choice questions and 2 essay scenarios. You will have 4 hours of total testing time for each part. You also have testing appointment flexibility: you can take the exam on any weekday within the testing windows ,which cover 6 of the 12 months in each year.

To earn the CMA, you’ll need to meet the following requirements:

  • *Hold an active IMA membership
  • *complete and pass Parts 1 and 2 of the CMA Exam.
  •  *old a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college/university or a related professional certification. (For details, please refer to the Education Qualification Section of the CMA Handbook.)
  • *Abide by IMA’s Statement of Ethical Professional Practice.
  • *have two continuous years of professional experience in management accounting or financial management. (Please refer to the Experience Qualification section of the CMA Handbook.)
CMA Examination Candidates for CMA certification must complete all required examination parts.
Part 1: Financial Reporting, Planning, Performance, and Control (4 hours – 100 multiplechoice questions and two 30-minute essay questions)
Part 2: Financial Decision Making (4 hours – 100 multiple-choice questions and two 30-minute essay questions  

CMA Program Fees:

For Professional Members:

  • CMA Entrance Fee(nonrefundable)$250*
  • Exam Fee$415 per part

For Student/Academic Members:

  • CMA Entrance Fee(nonrefundable)$188*
  • Exam Fee$311 per part